Goals for this blog and the Cavers one-name study in 2013

As we near the end of another year and approach the start of a new one I thought I’d blog about my goals for this blog and the related one-name study for the year ahead.

A big reason for starting this blog was that it was a way for me to share information that I’d been able to piece together about Cavers families in the past. it’s really important to me that I do this while I still can. I’m very seriously ill, and the future is uncertain. So for 2013 I plan to make more genealogy blog posts, where I cover specific family lines in detail. For examples of prior posts of this kind see the posts categorised under Genealogies.

Mixed up alongside those I will continue to post references to the Cavers surname that I spot in old records, and also other topical articles, like the 1881 Canadian census one I posted here recently. For example I’ve found a lot of interesting references to the name in old newspapers in the British Newspaper Archive that would be worth sharing here.

Something that I need to do with my offline records is to update my events database for the one-name study. This is an Excel spreadsheet full of references I’ve found in all sorts of records to Cavers people, and it’s very useful. I may want to share it more widely though, again my way of preserving things longer-term, in which case I would look probably at converting it to be available online in Google Docs format.

May I also take this opportunity to wish all Cavers researchers the best for 2013.

4 thoughts on “Goals for this blog and the Cavers one-name study in 2013

  1. You’re a very gallant woman, Vivian — I wish you the best possible year for 2013. Nan Kennedy

    ________________________________

  2. I’m very sorry to hear you are seriously ill, thank you for providing such insight and knowledge of the Cavers name and heritage.
    Wishing you all the best in 2013. Carl Cavers

  3. Dear Viv
    Thank you for all the work regarding the Cavers family!! You are a great source of inspiration to me, and always bring my focus back to my research!!.
    I was most interested in your 1881 census list. I think my branch, St. Catharines and Homer are missing there. I have a Walter Ebenezer Cavers, 1805 – 1896 who married Eliza Potts and also a Walter Cavers (Hawick) who married Jane Crozier (Kirkton). I would be happy to send you my small bits if you wish.
    Please take care of yourself. It must be interesting to know that all sorts of Cavers people are thinking of you and wishing you well!!
    Anne Cavers Carruthers

Leave a Reply

